Review: aden + anais Dream Blanket

aden + anais dream blanket review

Review: aden + anais Dream Blanket

Anyone who knows me will tell you how much I love aden + anais products. The combination of soft muslin, generous sizing and funky prints has me sold before I’ve even realised it most of the time. I slept under their swaddle blankets for the first four months of my son’s life whilst we co-slept and I’ve used the muslin cloths on a permanent rotation for comfort, mopping up spills and wiping runny noses as time’s gone on. If it weren’t for the husband putting a ban on me buying more blankets (I can’t help it, it’s an affliction) I’d have invested in an aden + anais dream blanket a long time ago. So you can imagine how excited I was when we were offered a dream blanket to review. Even if it did take me far too long to decide on a design.

aden + anais dream blanket review

Who are aden + anais?

aden + anais was founded by Raegan Moya-Jones who was looking for a way to continue the practice of swaddling using muslin cloth. Unable to find anything suitable, she created her own muslin swaddle blanket and from there, aden + anais was born. Nowadays, aden + anais produce a wide range of cotton muslin products, from the original swaddle cloths through to blankets and even clothing, available in over 65 countries worldwide. Their classic design, funky prints and practical functionality has led to aden + anais becoming a firm favourite with parents around the world.

aden + anais dream blanket review

The aden + anais dream blanket – Leader of the pack

The aden + anais dream blankets are made from four layers of their well known 100% cotton muslin, ensuring they’re breathable, soft and durable. Available in a range of designs, from Disney through to classic aden + anais prints, the dream blanket retails at £44.95, rising to £58 for the silky soft or metallic versions. Whilst every design is oh so tempting, I couldn’t help but fall in love with the ‘leader of the pack’ design featuring a beautiful large lion print. The reverse side picks out the colours from the lion’s mane and repeats them in a pattern of muted bright shapes making it a firm favourite in our household and wonderfully unisex.

The dream blanket is the same size as the muslin swaddles; a huge 120cm x 120cm. Not only does this make it larger than most other blankets on the market, it also means there’s plenty of space for snuggling down together. Trust me, I know exactly how much of your body you can fit under one of these and it really is impressive. As firm fans of sleeping bags for night sleeping, we tend to use blankets for all manner of other activities instead; laying them out on the floor for play time, taking them to the park with us, using them in the car or just using them as a literal comfort blanket. So far this blanket’s been a puzzle zone, a car track and an extra bit of padding for bare baby feet.

aden + anais dream blanket review

Let’s be practical

Children are messy creatures, especially now we’re in the toddler stage and he’s able to create his own mess! I know from previous experience how well the aden + anais muslin swaddles wash and I was pleased to find that this blanket is no different, just pop it in the machine and off you go. It’s this that makes the aden + anais products such a firm favourite for me; their products start soft, wear well and only get softer with age. Price wise, they’re at the upper end of baby blankets out there but to compare them, you’re doing them a disservice. This isn’t a baby blanket in the traditional sense, for a small baby I’d use it more as a padded mat for tummy time or floor play. As your baby grows into the toddler stage and beyond is where it’s ‘blanket’ uses come increasingly to the fore.

aden + anais dream blanket review

It’s soft and snugly, padded and practical and has plenty of room for growing children (and adults!) to wrap themselves in. It would make a great gift for new babies, offering a present that’s useful, beautiful and will last for years. That said, I’m also eyeing it up for myself; it’s lovely to drape over you in the evenings once the baby’s in bed!

Fancy getting your hands on one?

aden + anais dream blanket

Now’s your chance to win an aden + anais dream blanket to try for yourself. We’re very exciting to be giving away a leader of the pack dream blanket worth £44.95 to a lucky entrant. Thankfully it’ll be sent directly from aden + anais, so there’s no danger of me keeping two (phew!), just follow the directions below to enter!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Prize is 1 x aden + anais dream blanket in the ‘leader of the pack’ print. There is no monetary exchange available. The prize will be distributed by aden + anais direct to the winner, Devon Mama cannot be held responsible for lost prizes. All winner decisions are final, the winner has 48 hours to claim their prize or a new winner will be drawn.

Contest closes at 12.00am on Monday 5th June.  UK Entrants Only.

120 Comments

  • Mummy Times Two 19th May 2017 at 7:10 am

    My son would love this. We call him the little lion because he’s always so brave x

    • DevonMamaOnline 19th May 2017 at 9:49 am

      Ahhh, I’d love for him to get it just for that reason! He’s SUCH a brave boy. x

  • Nicola 19th May 2017 at 8:17 am

    This looks so luxurious, you’ve got me sold with your comprehensive review. Definitely going to enter now to try to win one! Thank you for such a fab giveaway.

    • DevonMamaOnline 19th May 2017 at 9:49 am

      It’s lovely, so soft and snuggly! Good luck, I’d love it to go to someone who’d love it as much as we do!

  • Jules 19th May 2017 at 9:28 am

    I love these blankets too, I prefer the geometric print.
    Not just for sleeping under as you rightly point out, I used mine all the time, it still comes out with us pretty much everywhere!

    • DevonMamaOnline 19th May 2017 at 9:45 am

      They’re lovely aren’t they? The geometric print is my favourite but the boy LOVES the lion! I’m actually sat under it now whilst he has a nap!! x

  • OddHogg 19th May 2017 at 10:17 am

    I’ve got 3 friends all due a baby in July so I’d give it to one of them. Perfect for a light blanket in the summer months

    • DevonMamaOnline 19th May 2017 at 10:19 am

      It’d be perfect for that. I think ours will last well in to toddlerhood, it’s absolutely huge! Such a nice gift to give someone x

  • Jo Carroll 19th May 2017 at 10:59 am

    My little fella would be using this lovely blanket. He’s had a favourite blankie since he was born but it really has seen better days as he takes it everywhere. This aden + anais ‘dream’ blanket would make the perfect retirement replacement…I can imagine him snuggled up in the car with it and taking it to nanny’s. x

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:59 am

      Ahhh lovely! My son has a favourite blankie as well but it’s also getting pretty worn so I’m glad he’s quite taken with this one now! This would definitely be a perfect replacement.

  • Rich Tyler 19th May 2017 at 11:14 am

    My little boy, he’d love the blanket 🙂

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:58 am

      It’s very lovable, he’d be a lucky boy! Good luck!

  • Jasmin N 19th May 2017 at 11:17 am

    That blanket is gorgeous! Dino would love it 😀 although, we live outside the UK so we can’t take a part to this giveaway 🙂 good luck to everyone who can!

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 10:01 am

      It really is! Oh no, you should get it sent to someone in the UK who can forward it on to you! x

  • stuart hargreaves 19th May 2017 at 1:12 pm

    ON OUR SUMMER PICNICS, AND THEN IN THE WINTER ON THE BED

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:32 am

      Good choice! I can’t wait to take ours for a picnic, best thing is it washes so you don’t need to worry about messy children!

  • Laura 19th May 2017 at 2:19 pm

    This is such a beautiful blanket. I would love to gift it to my godson. If I could get it past my own kids that is!

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:33 am

      It’s fab isn’t it? I love the print so much! Fingers crossed for your godson, I reckon you’d have a fight on your hands because once you see it, you’ll want to keep it!

  • Lorna Ledger 19th May 2017 at 2:46 pm

    My BFF’s son Jake, I think he will use it as a snuggler, and a comfort, it looks lovely and soft xxx

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:35 am

      It’s wonderfully soft and the aden + anais items we own only seem to get softer over time… that’s the beauty of muslin!

  • Carolyn Heyworth 19th May 2017 at 6:50 pm

    My grandson Elijah would be making good use of this. Last him a long time, nice to snuggle up to !

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:34 am

      Ahhh lovely, it would be perfect for snuggling up to! It really will last, I’ve snuggled up under it a couple times and it covers the majority of my body (and I’m not THAT short!)

  • Emma 19th May 2017 at 8:18 pm

    This is lovely! It reminds me of a large muslin we had for Benjamin when he was born, but I think this is more padded? Never mind children, I want one for myself haha! X

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:31 am

      It IS more padded. It’s four layers of the muslin, which sounds like it would be really thin still but it’s a great thickness. Thick but not overthick!

  • Vicki @ tippytupps 19th May 2017 at 8:46 pm

    I love this blanket. I have an addiction to blankets too!!

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:31 am

      It’s gorgeous isn’t it? I prefer to think of mine as a medical disease rather than just a weakness for a funky print and a good snuggle factor

  • Emma Whitworth 19th May 2017 at 8:51 pm

    I have a weird obsession with blankets lol this looks A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:30 am

      I do too!!! I used to love them before but since becoming a parent I’ve literally become obsessed. We’re inundated with them!

  • Anthony Harrington 19th May 2017 at 9:09 pm

    This would be for our little Grandson, perfect for us to take out and about with us!

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:29 am

      What a good choice! Fingers crossed for you and your grandson!

  • Debbie Nicholas 19th May 2017 at 11:18 pm

    Aww that looks so cute and cosy too!

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:29 am

      It is!! I love the bright design, it’s really fun without being in your face. Cosiness an added amazing benefit as well!

  • Amy @ The Smallest Of Things 19th May 2017 at 11:22 pm

    My little girl will be using it. She loves snuggling and I think this will be perfect 🙂 ox

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:28 am

      It’s DEFINITELY perfect for snuggling, I can personally guarantee it!

  • Lia Burns 19th May 2017 at 11:59 pm

    I’d give it to my little girl due in July I think we’d use it a lot throughout the summer!

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:24 am

      Oh lovely!!! Congratulations on your little girl, what an exciting time for you… this would be perfect!

  • Katie 20th May 2017 at 8:49 am

    How cute! My nephew will be using it for sleeping, snuggling and playing 🙂

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:23 am

      All the best things to use it for!!

  • Harline parkin 20th May 2017 at 8:54 am

    This would be lovely for my new grandson so pretty

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:22 am

      Isn’t it? I love the design – good luck!

  • Sandra Fortune 20th May 2017 at 9:50 am

    My little grandson would love this it’s a lovely giveaway. Thank you

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th May 2017 at 9:57 am

      It’s a beautiful blanket isn’t it? I was so pleased to be able to offer one as a competition. Good luck!

  • Sarah Mackay 20th May 2017 at 10:18 am

    I would give this to my daughter as i know she would just love it.

    • DevonMamaOnline 23rd May 2017 at 8:54 pm

      Ahhh, what a lucky daughter you have!

  • Rachel 20th May 2017 at 10:27 am

    I love Aden + Anais. I’d love to win it so my 2 can snuggle up on the sofa together!

    • DevonMamaOnline 23rd May 2017 at 8:55 pm

      They have gorgeous stuff don’t they!! This is PERFECT for snuggling!

  • jo liddement 20th May 2017 at 12:03 pm

    I would love to give this gorgeous blanket to my granddaughter Freyja who is three months old.

    • DevonMamaOnline 23rd May 2017 at 8:54 pm

      It would be perfect for her to grow up with – something to treasure!

  • Jeannette @autismmumma 20th May 2017 at 12:55 pm

    Great review and what a lovely blanket x

    • DevonMamaOnline 23rd May 2017 at 8:53 pm

      Thank you!! It’s a beauty!!

  • Amber Morley-Trapnell 20th May 2017 at 1:58 pm

    Great review! Beautiful product. And you are a local blogger so that makes it even more important!!

    • DevonMamaOnline 23rd May 2017 at 8:53 pm

      Ahhh thanks Amber!!

  • Kim M 20th May 2017 at 3:26 pm

    Perfect to save for my daughter x

    • DevonMamaOnline 23rd May 2017 at 8:57 pm

      Ahhhh that does sound like a good use!

  • Kerry Taylor 20th May 2017 at 5:33 pm

    I’d give this to my sister, who’s due in October. It would be used to cover baby at first, and then to lay them on when they’re a bit older!

    • DevonMamaOnline 23rd May 2017 at 8:53 pm

      Ahhh good luck to your sister, what a lovely gift idea!

  • Susan Smith 20th May 2017 at 5:56 pm

    Will be using it for my new Grandchild when she/he appears, its a beautiful blanket

    • DevonMamaOnline 23rd May 2017 at 8:58 pm

      Oh what a lovely use for it! It’s beautiful so fingers crossed!

  • iain maciver 20th May 2017 at 6:05 pm

    perfect for my niece

  • Solange 21st May 2017 at 4:49 am

    I love aden + anais, especially their muslin swaddle blankets. This dream blanket would be for my niece who has a four week old son. She’ll probably use it for sleeping.

    • DevonMamaOnline 23rd May 2017 at 8:57 pm

      Their pieces are lovely, I agree the muslin swaddle blankets are WONDERFUL!

  • Alica 21st May 2017 at 3:31 pm

    My grandson would love this and would use it all the time to play on or sleep with 🙂

    • DevonMamaOnline 23rd May 2017 at 8:55 pm

      It’s great for playing on!

  • Nicola Johns 21st May 2017 at 8:45 pm

    This blanket looks lovely. My little boy would love this, he has a safari themed bedroom and has just recently learnt how to “roar” like lion!

    • DevonMamaOnline 23rd May 2017 at 8:50 pm

      Oh it would fit a treat in a safari themed room, ours is similarly themed and it looks wonderful!

  • Ruth Harwood 24th May 2017 at 9:11 am

    Thiswould be awesome for cold summer nights xx

    • DevonMamaOnline 31st May 2017 at 9:19 pm

      It would be ideal!

  • Judith Allen 24th May 2017 at 6:18 pm

    A friend is expecting a baby boy very soon, I’m sure it will be well used and loved.

    • DevonMamaOnline 31st May 2017 at 9:17 pm

      Ahhh how lovely, good luck x

  • Hali Kinson 24th May 2017 at 10:01 pm

    This blanket looks so cute and cosy, my first son is due august, would love this to be his first comfort blanket

    • DevonMamaOnline 31st May 2017 at 9:16 pm

      Eeek super exciting time for you. This would make a lovely comfort blanket, the colours are perfect too. Will keep my fingers crossed for you x

  • T Brailey 24th May 2017 at 11:33 pm

    Review was great and I would love this for my daughter who is having her own daughter in June #excited to become a nanny.

    • DevonMamaOnline 31st May 2017 at 9:14 pm

      Thank you!! How exciting for you, fingers crossed everything goes well for you! x

  • Sally Collingwood 25th May 2017 at 8:43 am

    For Teddy who is almost one, he canplay on it and have it on his cot

    • DevonMamaOnline 31st May 2017 at 9:14 pm

      Ahhhhh good lucky Teddy! It’d be great for playing on, we have ours on the cot at the moment and it’s the perfect thickness.

  • Kirsty Ward 26th May 2017 at 2:09 pm

    I would love this for my Baby Girl due in September! It looks great for snuggling!

    • DevonMamaOnline 30th May 2017 at 10:02 pm

      Congratulations on your pregnancy, hope it’s all going okay so far!! It is PERFECT for snuggling under – trust me – I’ve extensively tested it!

  • Tasha 26th May 2017 at 9:49 pm

    I would give it to my best friend who’s expecting a little girl

    • DevonMamaOnline 30th May 2017 at 10:02 pm

      How exciting!! It would make a lovely gift! Good luck x

  • Katie Skeoch 27th May 2017 at 12:53 am

    It would cover my 3 week old baby boy, a proper snuggly blanket

    • DevonMamaOnline 30th May 2017 at 10:01 pm

      Ahhh how lovely. Congratulations on the birth of your little one and GOOD LUCK!

  • adeinne tonner 28th May 2017 at 11:54 am

    I would give it to my friend for her toddler as i think she would use it in the living room as she has wooden flooring so would use it for him to sit on and play with his toys on too.

    • DevonMamaOnline 31st May 2017 at 9:21 am

      It’s a great size for playing with toys on! It’s HUGE!

  • Ella L 29th May 2017 at 5:12 pm

    I have a friend Sarah who is due next month this would be lovely to give to her

    • DevonMamaOnline 30th May 2017 at 9:58 pm

      What a perfect gift for her. Fingers crossed for you!

  • Amy Fox 31st May 2017 at 2:30 pm

    These are absolutely gorgeous and so practical! Alfie makes such a mess, even at 2, they look like they’d be the perfect picnic blanket for a little one too! x

    • DevonMamaOnline 31st May 2017 at 9:13 pm

      It’s so lovely, it’d make a great picnic blanket, it’s definitely big enough!

  • HAYLEY TURNER 1st June 2017 at 9:56 pm

    my baby girl and i would sit together in the park admiring our beautiful blanket

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd June 2017 at 8:25 pm

      Lovely, it’s a great size for sitting on… especially in the park!

  • Pamela Gossage 2nd June 2017 at 1:36 pm

    My grandson will be using it

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd June 2017 at 8:24 pm

      Lovely!

  • Amanda Gregory 2nd June 2017 at 4:34 pm

    My great-nice would love this. I think it would end up going everywhere with her.

    • Amanda Gregory 2nd June 2017 at 4:35 pm

      Great-Niece even lol!

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd June 2017 at 8:24 pm

      It does look like a classic comfort blanket, perfect for pulling over heads and pretending to use it as a cape as well! Good luck!

  • janine atkin 2nd June 2017 at 10:35 pm

    my nephew would have this all the time

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd June 2017 at 8:22 pm

      Lovely! Good luck!

  • donna l jones 2nd June 2017 at 11:14 pm

    it would be for my daughter whose expecting

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd June 2017 at 8:22 pm

      Oh congratulations! Fingers crossed for you

  • Claire glace 3rd June 2017 at 10:12 am

    Beautiful for summer family picnic s thankyou

  • Susan B 3rd June 2017 at 2:55 pm

    We are thrilled to have two new little people in the family whose cots would look gorgeous with this blanket thrown over.

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd June 2017 at 8:19 pm

      Congratulations!!! This is great for newborns, plenty of room for them to grow! x

  • Lesley Bain 3rd June 2017 at 8:34 pm

    My daughter gave birth to my grandson Max just 3 weeks ago <3 She would love this as she has found that swaddling works well to settle him. I'm sure they would get many years use from it too.

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd June 2017 at 8:39 pm

      Oh congratulations!!!! Enjoy this special time x

  • Melissa A. 3rd June 2017 at 10:12 pm

    My son would love this blanket for extra cuddle time!

    • DevonMamaOnline 4th June 2017 at 11:50 am

      Anything that get us parents a little extra cuddle time, eh?!

  • ellie spider 3rd June 2017 at 11:16 pm

    I’d gift it to my friend shes got twins so this would be lovely for them to snuggle up on

    • DevonMamaOnline 4th June 2017 at 11:50 am

      Plenty of room for twins on there! Good luck!

  • Pauline Dring 4th June 2017 at 2:01 pm

    My great nephew, who was born in February

  • Kim Neville 4th June 2017 at 3:23 pm

    My daughter is expecting so would save for her. Aden + anais are so wonderful and soft. Perfect for baby 🙂

    • DevonMamaOnline 5th June 2017 at 9:26 am

      Very exciting!! They are amazingly soft, and so warm, I’m tempted to go get ours now to snuggle under!

  • Maria Jane Knight 4th June 2017 at 4:52 pm

    I would use this as a tummy time blanket for my little boy x

    • DevonMamaOnline 5th June 2017 at 9:25 am

      It’s great for that!

  • Fiona jk42 4th June 2017 at 9:27 pm

    this blanket would be used by my granddaughter, and by me when I lie down to take a nap with her!

    • DevonMamaOnline 5th June 2017 at 9:25 am

      Ha! That’s exactly what happens in this house as well!

  • Cath Joyce 4th June 2017 at 9:42 pm

    My friend’s new grandson who was born on Friday morning

    • DevonMamaOnline 5th June 2017 at 9:24 am

      oh congratulations to them! What a lovely idea.

  • Tee Simpson 4th June 2017 at 10:26 pm

    My 1st nephew would use it at bedtime

    • DevonMamaOnline 5th June 2017 at 9:24 am

      Ahhh good luck to him!

  • Natalie Crossan 4th June 2017 at 11:54 pm

    Fantastic for the summer – thanks so much for the chance!!

    • DevonMamaOnline 5th June 2017 at 9:24 am

      Good luck!

    Leave a Reply

    Welcome To Devon Mama!

    I'm Hayley and this is us; working parents to a wild haired toddler and a sleep loving baby. Whether it's travel, food, lifestyle or just a healthy dose of parenting reality, there's something for everyone here. So sit back, get comfy and start scrolling!

    Hayley x

    Never Miss A Moment

    Join 3,464 other subscribers.

    Latest Posts

    Latest Tweets

    TOTS100 - UK Parent Blogs
    TOTS100
    ×
    %d bloggers like this: