Review: MyHummy White Noise Toys

7th June 2017

Review: MyHummy White Noise Toys

7th June 2017

If you’re looking for a myHummy white noise toy review then you’re in the right place. We reviewed a myHummy bear (Ash) with our 12 month old son. Why not see how we got on?

White noise has been our saviour when it comes to baby sleep. We’ve used it in one form or another since pretty much day one. Graduating from an app on our phones to that sleep inducing sheep, it’s allowed us to nail both bed and nap time. But we’re a year in and we’re still dealing with at least one wake up a night that I’d love to conquer. So when my cousin mentioned how their myHummy was helping them overcome night wake ups, I was keen to give it a go. Luckily, myHummy agreed to send us Ash, one of their teddy bear range, to test out, so here we go…

myHummy Sleep Aid Review

MyHummy White Noise Toy Review

Who are myHummy?

myHummy are the brand behind some of the cutest and cleverest sleep aids to hit the market in recent years. Created by a mum desperate to help her little one sleep, the myHummy white noise range combines the science of white noise with ridiculously appealing cuteness that’s guaranteed to appeal to both parents and little ones alike. With three ranges; the sleepyheads, the snoozys and the teddy bears, priced from £39 up to £59, there’s something to suit every pocket. Whilst the sleepyheads and snoozys are both fabulous, I have to admit it’s the teddy bear range that steal my heart. But before we get on to that, let’s talk white noise…

myHummy teddy bear review

How does white noise help?

As myHummy remind us, babies really aren’t used to silence. From the moment they’re first able to hear, babies are exposed to constant noise within the womb. Think back to when you heard your child’s heartbeat… it was pretty noisy in there wasn’t it?! They associate this continual low level noise with comfort and safety, so when we place them in near silence expecting them to sleep, it can often be confusing for them.

Studies have shown that white noise reminds babies of their environment in the womb and as such provides comfort and a greater chance for them to relax. In fact, your baby is three times more likely to fall asleep when white noise is played. Let’s face it, that’s a statistic that really can’t be ignored. Getting them to sleep is half the battle.

It’s not just babies that white noise has this effect on, it’s been shown that white noise can also help toddlers, children and even adults to get a better night’s sleep. Not only that but white noise can also cancel out other noises and stimulation making it easier to keep your baby asleep. Not convinced? Our son will sleep through builders outside his window if we have white noise playing… coincidence? I think not.

myHummy teddy bear review

Meet Ash…

Ash is our myHummy teddy bear. He’s a handsome chap and an award winner no less; he’s the proud owner of a Made For Mums Silver Award 2017. Ash came in two parts; the stuffed teddy bear body and the white noise device. This device is easy to install, just fit the batteries, read the instruction guide and insert into the lined, zipper pocket for use. Once it’s in there, you don’t need to remove it to use, although I find it a little easier to do so.

The white noise device is capable of emitting five different white noise sounds (amniotic fluid with heartbeat, rainfall, sea waves, hairdryer and vacuum cleaner in case you were wondering!) and has different volume levels. You can change sounds, change the volume and change between functions (on, continual or off) by pressing the button in different ways. To start with I found the functionality a little difficult to come to grips with, if I wanted to do something, I’d have to refer to the instruction sheet to double check. However, a couple of days in and we were at pro level as it’s pretty intuitive. If I can manage it in a permanently sleep deprived state, then there’s hope for everyone.

The Sleep Sensor

My favourite feature on the myHummy products is the sleep sensor. White noise is played for 60 minutes before fading gently away, far longer than other white noise products on the market and definitely long enough to ensure sleep is occurring. However, if your child starts to stir, it’s automatically activated again for another 60 minute period. What this means in reality is that your little one is never knowingly without the comfort of white noise, helping encourage them to re-settle at night, something that really has worked well for us. And if you want to guarantee that, you can easily activate a non-stop mode that lasts twelve hours.

myHummy Teddy Bear Review

Is it worth the money?

When we first started using white noise as a sleep aid, we used a free app on our phones. This worked for us for a while but quickly became an issue; we didn’t want to place our phones next to our newborn’s head for hours on end. That and we wanted to use them ourselves! Our next venture was with a different sleep aid which worked well but lacked a lot of the functionality myHummy has.

At £59, it’s not a cheap investment and myHummy have countered that by using the same technology in their other products. In reality you’re looking at £39 minimum spend which is more than other products on the market. However, there are three major points which make myHummy worth the additional investment;

  1. The 60 minute play time
  2. The sleep sensor with sound and movement activation
  3. It’s machine washable at 40 degrees (just remove the white noise device)

It sounds silly to list washability alongside high technology but in my experienced opinion, it’s an important factor. Trust me, there’s nothing worse than trying to sponge baby sick out of an essential sleep item, getting it wet enough to remove the offending mess but not too wet so as to damage the electrics.

myHummy Teddy Bear Review

Anything else?

Aside from the fact that it’s helping us get more sleep at night, we’ve fallen more than a little in love with our myHummy bear. It’s beautifully well made and thought out, even down to the presentation of a small certificate introducing your bear to your family. It’s more than a white noise device, it’s a comforter that your little one will be able to snuggle for years to come, so pretty priceless.

myHummy teddy bear review

Not sure which myHummy takes your fancy? You can check out the full range here!

 

121 Comments

  • Lia Burns 7th June 2017 at 7:33 am

    I would choose Pearl for my little girl due next month, we are calling her Bella Pearl so it’s a perfect match! These look fab I’d never heard of them until reading this x

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 9:54 pm

      Oh it really would be! Good luck and congratulations to you guys, what an exciting time for you! I would DEFINITELY recommend white noise to you, it helped us so much with a newborn and the myHummy range are the best I’ve seen!

  • Debbie 7th June 2017 at 9:26 am

    I really like the look of this! I have a Ewan the dream sheep which is great at getting little one to sleep but doesn’t help if she wakes in the night! I would love to try one of these out to see if it helps with her night waking.

    Debbie x http://www.hellodeborah.co.uk

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 9:55 pm

      We had a Ewan and whilst I’ll always have a soft spot for him, I think he’s got huge limitations. The sleep sensor on this means you get the benefit all through the night… which is exactly when you need it!!

  • Gee gardner 7th June 2017 at 10:07 am

    Love this idea. My youngest used to fall asleep better if there is background noise/white noise going on but now she’s just nocturnal haha! I wonder if something like this may help her drift off. x

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 9:57 pm

      They go through phases all the time don’t they. Apparently white noise also works as you get older, it’s not just babies!!

  • Rachelanne_bee 7th June 2017 at 10:21 am

    Omg this looks so good. Very tempting as my nearly one year old still refuses to sleep at night with at least one if not two wake ups!

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 10:04 pm

      You need to give it a try, it’s definitely been helping us although we’re still sticking firmly to one for a feed so far! But still… progress!

  • paula cheadle 7th June 2017 at 10:53 am

    I like Ash, I would give him to my baby granddaughter Alice-Rose who is 8 weeks old, I think she would love him

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 10:02 pm

      Congratulations on your new granddaughter. I guarantee she’d be a fan of Ash, good luck!

  • OddHogg 7th June 2017 at 2:15 pm

    It would have to be Filbert. I’ve got 3 friends all due a baby in July so it would make the perfect gift for one of them

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 10:01 pm

      It was a close call for us between Ash and Filbert! What a lovely gift for any of your friends, I would be ridiculously grateful if that was me!

  • Tracy Nixon 7th June 2017 at 2:16 pm

    I’d love to win Fleur for my daughter thank you!

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 9:51 pm

      Good choice, she is a rather special looking lady!!

  • Chloe Davies 7th June 2017 at 2:34 pm

    I would like to win Ash for our first baby due this September x

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 9:51 pm

      Congratulations to you!! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you but either way I really recommend using white noise from as early as possible. Literally revolutionised our lives!

  • Samantha Fernley 7th June 2017 at 2:42 pm

    I’d love to win Ash for my son, who needs comfort to sleep.

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 10:03 pm

      My son is exactly the same. Ash is a great size for cuddling as well, larger than I was expecting which means he’ll last your little one a while.

  • DENISE WILDEN 7th June 2017 at 2:46 pm

    I would give it to my little granddaughter Grace she always goes to sleep with white noise and I’m sure the little teddy would be a firm friend.

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 10:00 pm

      Good luck Grace!

  • Allison Sherwood 7th June 2017 at 3:03 pm

    I would love to bring home Ash for my new grandchild when he/she arrives x

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 9:59 pm

      That would be lovely, what a lucky little one they’d be! Good luck!

  • stuart hargreaves 7th June 2017 at 3:37 pm

    The teddy bear (myhummy) – my young nephew

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 10:05 pm

      Good luck!

  • Laura 7th June 2017 at 3:47 pm

    I think this looks great! We had to replace our sheep after a vomit attack and Katie (aged almost 5) actually still sleeps with it. Massive fans of white noise here. Although that said – doesn’t work for Thomas!

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 9:27 pm

      Ahhh bless, I dread the vomit attacks, it took me a couple of days to de-snot the last one after a particularly heavy cold! That’s why I love that the myHummys are all machine washable, FAR more practical! I love a bit of white noise too… I think it works better on me than the rest of the family!

  • Richard Tyler 7th June 2017 at 4:13 pm

    I’d love to win the myHummy teddy bear for my little baby boy

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 9:26 pm

      Ahhh but which though Rich?! Good luck!

  • Nicola 7th June 2017 at 4:38 pm

    This looks absolutely wonderful! I hope i win!

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 9:25 pm

      Good luck Nic, anything that helps them sleep eh?! Who knows, you might manage a night in your bed WITHOUT a child!

  • Rob Hutchinson 7th June 2017 at 5:23 pm

    Ash would make a perfect pal for my little nephew.

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 9:23 pm

      Good choice, I think we might be rather biased but he’s the top choice in my eyes!

  • Mummy Times Two 7th June 2017 at 8:21 pm

    I love that the timer lasts for an hour. We have something similar that only lasts twenty minutes. I think I might have to invest.

    • DevonMamaOnline 7th June 2017 at 9:22 pm

      We did beforehand as well and half the time it would stop before he was fully asleep meaning he’d just wake up!! Definitely worth the investment in my book!

  • Sidrah Ahmed 7th June 2017 at 10:48 pm

    Pearl for my daughter

    • DevonMamaOnline 11th June 2017 at 7:51 pm

      Great choice, good luck!

  • Solange 8th June 2017 at 12:27 am

    I’d love to win Ash for my little nephew.

    • DevonMamaOnline 11th June 2017 at 7:52 pm

      OH I love Ash, good luck!!

  • Lorna Ledger 8th June 2017 at 1:01 am

    Oh wow, such a good toy for all ages really – I love for my gorgeous Nephew Joe! He would love him

    This dandy white noise teddy bear is looking for a buddy! Ash is playful during daytime and snuggly at naptime. The brave bear will take his little friend to dreamland and faithfully guard baby’s sleep, awaiting more adventures.

    • DevonMamaOnline 11th June 2017 at 7:51 pm

      Good luck for Joe!!

  • Emma Potter 8th June 2017 at 5:35 am

    Very nice.

  • Hali Kinson 8th June 2017 at 6:58 am

    I would love ash for my son due august, I’ve heard great things and white noise

    • DevonMamaOnline 11th June 2017 at 7:50 pm

      White noise is WONDERFUL, I wholeheartedly recommend it!

  • Claire glace 8th June 2017 at 1:15 pm

    My beautiful grandaughter x

  • Kerry Taylor 8th June 2017 at 1:35 pm

    I’d love to win Ash for my new nephew due in 4 months!

    • DevonMamaOnline 11th June 2017 at 7:48 pm

      Eeek what an exciting time – good luck!

  • Leila Benhamida 8th June 2017 at 2:11 pm

    I will choose Pearl for my daughter she will love a princess friend.

    • DevonMamaOnline 11th June 2017 at 7:47 pm

      Lovely, good luck!

  • Kirsty 8th June 2017 at 6:04 pm

    I’m now undecided about white noise! We had a MyHummy, and I absolutely loved it for Harrison – I was so adamant it was the only thing that helped him sleep, that was, until I tried without and realized he hadn’t even noticed. The only person that noticed was me! I now can’t sleep without white noise at all!

    • DevonMamaOnline 11th June 2017 at 7:47 pm

      I’m not brave enough to go without again at the moment, we left ours once at my parents and it was SO hard getting him back to sleep in the middle of the night. I have to agree though, we shared a room at the weekend and the white noise had me RIGHT off to sleep!

  • Vicki D 8th June 2017 at 9:19 pm

    I’d love to win Ash for my niece. She would love this!

    • DevonMamaOnline 9th June 2017 at 8:59 am

      Good luck!!

  • Nicola Johns 8th June 2017 at 10:05 pm

    Filbert looks a pretty cool character, I’d pick him for my crazy little toddler boy. Sounds good, especially thec60 minute timer

    • DevonMamaOnline 9th June 2017 at 8:58 am

      The best thing about them at that age is that Filbert’s the right size for cuddling in to at night! So it’s win win!

  • Victoria Prince 9th June 2017 at 8:50 am

    Snoozy in baby blue for my friend who has just had her second baby 🙂

    • DevonMamaOnline 9th June 2017 at 8:56 am

      Oooh good choice, I love the snoozys, they’re just so cute and cuddly looking!

  • Susan B 9th June 2017 at 12:59 pm

    Snoozy in ecru and white would be my choice. I would give it to our 15-month old but confess that I would like to try it myself, too, to help getting to sleep with tinnitus.

    • DevonMamaOnline 11th June 2017 at 7:46 pm

      Ahhh I love the snoozy range as well. I hear it helps tinnitus no end!

  • Katie Skeoch 9th June 2017 at 4:05 pm

    My 6 week old likes his dream sheep but the sound of the Hoover often sends him to sleep too. Love these white noise toys, I’d choose the Filbert bear x

    • DevonMamaOnline 11th June 2017 at 7:44 pm

      Good luck!! We have a dream sheep too and I have to say whilst I love it, I think it’s got some limitations – especially the washability but I can;t get rid as he was our first born white noise toy!!

  • Maggie Coates 9th June 2017 at 5:52 pm

    I would choose Ash. I cannot tell you who for, because the person I would give it to has not told anyone else that she is pregnant yet.

    • DevonMamaOnline 11th June 2017 at 7:43 pm

      How exciting!! Good luck and great choice!

  • Georgina 9th June 2017 at 10:27 pm

    We have Ash too and we are obsessed with him! I recently had to change the batteries as it kept cutting out but I left it a few nights and the difference in his sleep was crazy! So much more settled with it xx

    • DevonMamaOnline 11th June 2017 at 7:43 pm

      I’m glad to hear it worked for you, he’s doing a great job for us!!

  • Jo Hutchinson 12th June 2017 at 1:00 am

    I’d love to win Ash for my latest little niece

    • DevonMamaOnline 12th June 2017 at 9:01 am

      Good luck – great choice with Ash!

  • Jade Thomas 12th June 2017 at 9:34 pm

    I absolutely love the Filbert bear! We are currently awaiting the arrival of baby Finley, and with our little William (3 years old) still not fully settled at night, sleep is weighing heavy on my mind! Fingers and toes crossed we might be lucky enough to get a Filbert to help 🙂 xx

    • DevonMamaOnline 15th June 2017 at 8:50 pm

      Filbert is fabulous. Good luck with the birth of Finley, you DEFINITELY need to embrace white noise!!

  • Lisa Wilkinson 13th June 2017 at 2:39 pm

    I’d choose Fleur for my little girl

    • DevonMamaOnline 15th June 2017 at 8:50 pm

      Beautiful, such a lovely bear!

  • Iona Stoddart 17th June 2017 at 9:38 am

    I’d love one of these bears for our baby due in August! It’s baby no.1 so I fear the sleep deprivation 🙂 I’d choose Ash as it would suit a boy or a girl. Fingers crossed! X

    • DevonMamaOnline 17th June 2017 at 1:44 pm

      Oh good luck!!! I hope the rest of your pregnancy goes well x

  • Rachel Newton 17th June 2017 at 11:58 pm

    I would love to win Filbert for my 12 week old baby boy. White noise really seems to help him settle and this would be amazing to (hopefully!) get him sleeping longer at nights. His big brother was a terrible sleeper so I need all the help I can get this time! X

    • DevonMamaOnline 19th June 2017 at 9:51 pm

      Good luck, white noise has really helped us with the night times so hopefully you’ll get to test it out yourself! Fingers crossed you get a good sleeper this time!

  • Angela Treadway 18th June 2017 at 12:11 am

    i would give this to a friends baby x

    • DevonMamaOnline 19th June 2017 at 9:52 pm

      How lucky would they be?! What a lovely idea!

  • Matthew Warman 18th June 2017 at 9:47 am

    I’d like ASH for my niece Darcie.

    • DevonMamaOnline 19th June 2017 at 9:55 pm

      Ahhh I have such a soft spot for Ash and the name Darcie – good luck!

  • Christina Curtis 18th June 2017 at 2:44 pm

    It would be Filbert for when we start a family – Hopefully soon!

    • DevonMamaOnline 19th June 2017 at 9:56 pm

      Eeek what an exciting time for you! Fingers crossed on both counts!

  • jo liddement 18th June 2017 at 4:34 pm

    I would choose Fleur for my granddaughter Freyja who is 5 months old and unsettled at night at the moment, so maybe this would help her.

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th June 2017 at 9:24 pm

      AhhhI hope you win and I hope this helps! If not I would definitely recommend white noise as a method for helping her sleep so it could well be worth the investment!

  • Rachael Pilkington 20th June 2017 at 2:18 pm

    I would choose Ash for our little one due soon. He’s perfect for the nursery- what a great idea!

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th June 2017 at 8:37 pm

      They are SUCH a good idea – I wholeheartedly recommend one even if you don’t win!

  • Karen Barrett 20th June 2017 at 7:33 pm

    I would choose Fleur for my new grand-daughter.

    • DevonMamaOnline 20th June 2017 at 8:36 pm

      Great choice – Fleur is perfect for girls!

  • Kelly Hirst 21st June 2017 at 3:43 pm

    They are all so sweet but I’d love to win Fleur for my niece

  • Diane Carey 22nd June 2017 at 3:05 pm

    I would love Snoozy in Mint Green for my granddaughter, Scarlette

  • Laura Asplin 23rd June 2017 at 9:30 pm

    I like Ash. I would give him to my baby boy due in September:)

    • DevonMamaOnline 25th June 2017 at 4:32 pm

      What an exciting time for you! Good luck!

  • janine atkin 24th June 2017 at 1:04 pm

    id love ash for my little nephew. he often comes to stay and this would be perfect

    • DevonMamaOnline 25th June 2017 at 4:32 pm

      Ahhh that would be lovely, very comforting in his home away from home!

  • Katy Malkin 24th June 2017 at 2:32 pm

    Filbert for my little girl. Wish babies slept better!

    • DevonMamaOnline 25th June 2017 at 4:31 pm

      Oh tell me about it! Although there’s light at the end of the tunnel, we’re pretty much straight through now! WOOOHOOO!

  • Tracey Belcher 24th June 2017 at 2:37 pm

    I would love Ash for my Grandson – My daughter uses an app on her phone at the moment – not ideal!

    • DevonMamaOnline 25th June 2017 at 4:29 pm

      We went through that stage – it’s awful! Firstly you can never use your phone for anything else and secondly, I was terrified after a while that I may be secretly frying his brain!

  • Louise King 24th June 2017 at 9:07 pm

    These are just fantastic. Hard choice but i wpuld have to pick fleur for my brand new neice as her ewan sheep has broke. This is a well better all roumded version.

    • DevonMamaOnline 25th June 2017 at 4:28 pm

      We still love Ewan, he’ll always have a little place in our hearts but I agree, this is a far more rounded version and gets you through the night. We now use Ewan as his comforter and Ash as his sleep aid!

  • Adrian Bold 24th June 2017 at 9:57 pm

    I’d love to win the myHummy teddy bear for my nephew.

  • Sandra Fortune 25th June 2017 at 8:27 am

    These are so lovely ! I’d love to win Ash for my little grandson he’s on the autism spectrum and it would be very soothing for him. Thank you for a great giveaway.

    • DevonMamaOnline 25th June 2017 at 4:31 pm

      I imagine it would work really well for that – I hadn’t thought about it until you said. Good luck!

  • Karen R 25th June 2017 at 10:09 am

    I’d choose Ash or Filbert – and I’d give it to my office mate who is expecting later this year 🙂

    • DevonMamaOnline 25th June 2017 at 4:25 pm

      What a lucky friend you have! Good luck!

  • nicky pearce 25th June 2017 at 2:49 pm

    This looks absolutely wonderful

    • DevonMamaOnline 25th June 2017 at 4:24 pm

      It’s great – I thoroughly recommend them to anyone!

  • Kim Neville 25th June 2017 at 2:49 pm

    I like Ash and would give to my grandchild to be as my daughter is expecting 🙂

    • DevonMamaOnline 25th June 2017 at 4:24 pm

      What an exciting time for you!

  • Gemma Cook 25th June 2017 at 3:04 pm

    I would love to win Ash for our little boy Jack!

    • DevonMamaOnline 25th June 2017 at 4:24 pm

      I love Ash!! Good choice, good luck!

  • Elizabeth Smith 25th June 2017 at 5:51 pm

    I’d choose Pearl for my little girl. I must say I’m tempted to try it myself when we’re on holiday as I seem to switch onto hypervigilant and even small noises keep me awake!

  • Theresa Thomas 25th June 2017 at 9:00 pm

    I would give it to my best friend that is due in December

  • Tee Simpson 25th June 2017 at 9:17 pm

    I would love Fleur for my baby girl

  • Cassandra Mayers 25th June 2017 at 9:58 pm

    Fleur Looks lovely for my friends baby girl 😀

  • Natalie Crossan 25th June 2017 at 10:00 pm

    Ash for my friends newborn bubba

  • Leanne Bell 25th June 2017 at 11:10 pm

    I would let my Sister choose for her first baby die in December x

  • tracy sinclair 25th June 2017 at 11:23 pm

    I would choose Pearl and it would be for my little Granddaughter, may help her sleep better than she does now x

  • Jenna Parrington 25th June 2017 at 11:35 pm

    My 15 week old baby girl Ava who really struggles sleeping anywhere but in my arms. Thanks for the chance 🙂

  • Rachel Craig 25th June 2017 at 11:37 pm

    Sleepy Head Pastel Pnk, for new addition to the family.

  • Jade Thomas 3rd July 2017 at 1:18 pm

    Hello, where did you announce the winner of the giveaway? I haven’t seen it anywhere and have been waiting to see who the lucky person was xx

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd July 2017 at 9:13 pm

      Hi Jade. The winner was the lovely Cassie M. from Burnley. She chose Ash too! x

      • Jade Thomas 3rd July 2017 at 10:53 pm

        Ahh that’s wonderful! Thank you for the update 🙂 xx

    Leave a Reply

    Welcome To Devon Mama!

    I'm Hayley and this is us; working parents to a wild haired toddler and a sleep loving baby. Whether it's travel, food, lifestyle or just a healthy dose of parenting reality, there's something for everyone here. So sit back, get comfy and start scrolling!

    Hayley x

    Never Miss A Moment

    Join 3,505 other subscribers.

    Latest Posts

    Over On The Gram

    Something is wrong.
    Instagram token error.

    Latest Tweets

    TOTS100 - UK Parent Blogs
    TOTS100
    ×
    %d bloggers like this: