Review: Get Fruity Bars

Review: Get Fruity Bars

When it comes to snacks, I know my stuff. I’m the girl with a handbag full of goodies and a car full of wrappers, a habit I’m trying to break! But when it comes to snacks I’m willing to give my son, I’m far fussier. In fact, I’d go as far as to say, I’m probably too strict on him. He doesn’t have cake, he’s never tried chocolate and I do my best to avoid salt where possible, which means it’s not easy to find snacks for on the go. Especially ones that he’ll eat. So when the team behind Get Fruity bars got in touch to see if we’d like to give their natural fruit and oat bars a trial I jumped at the chance. Here’s how we got on…

Product Review: Get Fruity Bars

What are Get Fruity bars?

Get Fruity bars are 100% natural bars made from a combination of fruit, oats and virgin coconut oil. Created in 2013 by Cornish mum of 2, Davina, they aim to be a fruit snack bar that is exactly what a fruit snack bar should be; nutritious, moist and packed full of flavour. Coming in six different flavours; Scrumptious Strawberry, Moist Mixed Berry, Juicy Apricot, Orange & Ginger, Tangy Pineapple, Coconut & Lime, Radiant Raspberry and Marvellous Mango, the Get Fruity bars really do have a flavour to suit most taste buds.

The science bit

Not only are they gluten free, dairy free and vegan certified, they also contain absolutely no refined sugars. The gluten free oats provide plenty of fibre, vitamin B, antioxidants and protein helping reassure me that I’m giving a snack that’s going to give my son plenty of nutrition, something that’s important when he insists on following a diet that’s 90% yoghurt the rest of the time! Additionally the bars use virgin coconut oil; a natural sweetener that’s being toted worldwide currently as the latest superfood due to it’s beneficial properties. What does that mean for me? It means on paper they’re perfect for my little one. They’ve even won awards, the Moist Mixed Berry Get Fruity bar picked up a winner’s title in the Free From Food Awards in 2015.

Product Review: Get Fruity Bars

But what about taste?

I’m always a little cautious when it comes to testing new foods with my son. His eating is hugely dependent on the time of day, his mood, tiredness levels, the phase of the moon… it seems to change from day to day, meaning finding something he’ll eat is almost always hit and miss. With that in mind, we actually tried these bars ourselves first, completely forgetting him in the process. Easily done when it comes to food.

I’d read the descriptions and found myself fancying them more and more, especially the Tangy Pineapple, Coconut and Lime bar… doesn’t that sound delicious?! I’ll admit that I wasn’t holding out much hope when it came to taste though, let’s face it, when you hear gluten free, dairy free, vegan friendly with no refined sugar, you have to ask whether they’re also flavour free. Thankfully, I was wrong. The bars genuinely are packed full of flavour and bursting with fruit. As with all natural bars, there’s a dense texture to them that can take some adjustment but the taste quickly wins out. They even passed the husband test who declared them delicious. Praise indeed.

Product Review: Get Fruity BarsAware that we’d eaten far too many ourselves, we gave the Get Fruity bars the ultimate taste test. The baby. Here’s where they came in to their own, he loves them! For a child who seems to hate eating at home, he quickly tucked away an entire bar, even cracking out his ‘more’ sign for the first time… success!! Since then we’ve taken them with us for days out as a treat/distraction whilst we’re shopping and he’s polished them off in record time, time after time. I think we’ll take that as a sign of approval, or in sing and sign terms… a big thumbs up!

Would I buy them?

When it comes to snacks for your child, it’s hard to find something that gets the balance right between pleasing you and pleasing them. I genuinely think we’ve found a treat that I’m happy with as a parent; it’s healthy, nutritious and he’s still getting to try new tastes, flavours and textures. The bars are just the right size to provide a filling snack even for adults (we’ve tested this for you, you’re welcome) and they travel well in lunch boxes for snacks on the go. At £2.49 for a pack of four, or £15 for a pack of 25, they’re actually one of the more affordable natural snack bars on the market. Especially when you consider the price of other ‘free from’ foods and fruity snacks aimed at children.

Product Review: Get Fruity Bars

Get Fruity bars are available to purchase from Ocado, Waitrose, Tesco, Co-op, Amazon or directly via the Get Fruity website. For more information on ingredients or to hear more about the Get Fruity story, please visit their site. 

156 Comments

  • Nicola 3rd May 2017 at 9:48 am

    These look super yummy and an indeal snack for Dex to take to his nanna’s while I’m at work. Thanks for the review, I probably would never have heard of them otherwise!! Oh, my favourite flavour would have to be Marvellous Mango!

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd May 2017 at 10:11 am

      I’d not heard of them either, but they’re a big hit in our household! Good choice on Marvellous Mango!

  • Nicola 3rd May 2017 at 6:46 pm

    Sounds good, I like the sound of the mixed berry bars. Will keep a look out for them as my little boy likes cereal bars

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd May 2017 at 9:09 pm

      Mine too apparently! Nice to find something healthy that passes their approval!

  • OddHogg 3rd May 2017 at 8:21 pm

    Definitely would try the strawberry! I love these sorts of things for snacks for Piglet – not tried this brand though.

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd May 2017 at 9:12 pm

      They’re great aren’t they! Good luck! x

  • Vicki @ tippytupps 3rd May 2017 at 8:46 pm

    What a great giveaway – fingers crossed we win!!

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd May 2017 at 9:11 pm

      Good luck!!

  • Cherry Edwards 3rd May 2017 at 8:55 pm

    I’m most looking forward to trying Radiant Raspberry.

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd May 2017 at 9:08 pm

      Good choice!

  • Kerry Kilmister 3rd May 2017 at 9:32 pm

    I would love to try the strawberry first

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd May 2017 at 9:32 pm

      Good luck! x

  • Angela Treadway 3rd May 2017 at 9:45 pm

    sumptuous strawberry x

  • Heather Haigh 3rd May 2017 at 9:45 pm

    I haven’t tried the moist mixed berry yet so would like to try that next.

    • DevonMamaOnline 3rd May 2017 at 9:53 pm

      Good luck!

  • Ritchie 3rd May 2017 at 9:51 pm

    Strawberry.

  • Kevin Honey 3rd May 2017 at 10:15 pm

    It would be a difficult choice between the Orange and Ginger and Marvelous Mango!

    • DevonMamaOnline 4th May 2017 at 9:22 am

      They’re all good!!

  • ADEINNE TONNER 3rd May 2017 at 10:38 pm

    For me it would have to be the marvellous mango sounds yummy

    • DevonMamaOnline 4th May 2017 at 9:23 am

      It’s delicious – good choice!!

  • Andrea A 3rd May 2017 at 11:05 pm

    I’m most looking forward to trying Coconut & Lime.

    • DevonMamaOnline 4th May 2017 at 9:23 am

      Good choice!!

  • Rich Tyler 3rd May 2017 at 11:51 pm

    Moist Mixed Berry 🙂

  • Natalie Gillham 4th May 2017 at 1:07 am

    Strawberry x

  • Harline parkin 4th May 2017 at 3:27 am

    These look really nice so does the pineapple one

  • Fiona King 4th May 2017 at 6:45 am

    I am most looking forward to the Mixed Berry bars

    • DevonMamaOnline 4th May 2017 at 9:24 am

      They’re lovely – you can see why they’ve won awards!

  • Jo Carroll 4th May 2017 at 7:31 am

    Moist Mixed Berry sounds nice. x

  • Graham Ross 4th May 2017 at 7:35 am

    I would love to try the Radiant Raspberry first.

    • DevonMamaOnline 4th May 2017 at 9:25 am

      Good choice!

  • Pamela Gossage 4th May 2017 at 7:51 am

    Strawberry is my favourite

  • stuart hargreaves 4th May 2017 at 8:12 am

    they look and read to be a very healthy product

    • DevonMamaOnline 4th May 2017 at 9:25 am

      They really are! Nice to find a snack that you don’t have to feel guilty about!

  • carole nott 4th May 2017 at 9:32 am

    the coconut and lime looks good

  • Lorraine Stone 4th May 2017 at 9:33 am

    Orange and ginger sounds a bit different, I would try that first.

  • Suzanne Jackson 4th May 2017 at 9:35 am

    radiant raspberry sounds yummy

  • Martina Pichova 4th May 2017 at 9:41 am

    The mango flavour sounds great!

  • PenoirB 4th May 2017 at 9:55 am

    Tangy pineapple, coconut & lime sounds lovely and it’s not your usual flavour combo for these kind of bars. Will seek them out in the shops.

    • DevonMamaOnline 4th May 2017 at 9:19 pm

      It reminds me of holidays on tropical beaches!

      • PenoirB 5th May 2017 at 10:26 am

        Sounds like a cocktail you might be drinking on one of those beaches!

  • Peter Watson 4th May 2017 at 10:19 am

    Radiant Raspberry sounds very interesting

    • DevonMamaOnline 4th May 2017 at 9:19 pm

      It’s lovely!

  • Eleanor Beavan 4th May 2017 at 11:05 am

    The Marvellous Mango sounds delicious !

  • Sheena Batey 4th May 2017 at 11:11 am

    Marvellous Mango I think

  • Liam Bishop 4th May 2017 at 12:04 pm

    Radiant Raspberry – I love Raspberries!

  • Daniel M 4th May 2017 at 12:06 pm

    I’d like to try the Marvelous Mango but the kids will probably get there before me!

    • DevonMamaOnline 4th May 2017 at 9:18 pm

      They didn’t last long here either!

  • Debbie W 4th May 2017 at 1:10 pm

    I’d love to try Moist Mixed Berry but they all sound fab.

  • Stevie 4th May 2017 at 1:36 pm

    I would like to try the radiant raspberry first.

    • DevonMamaOnline 4th May 2017 at 3:53 pm

      Great choice!

  • Natalie Newham 4th May 2017 at 6:58 pm

    Apricot, Orange & Ginger is my favourite 🙂

  • Hilda Wright 4th May 2017 at 7:46 pm

    All of them! I’m really on the lookout for some healthy alternatives. Strawberry would probably be my first pick!

    • DevonMamaOnline 4th May 2017 at 9:18 pm

      It’s hard to find something that tastes good and IS good for you isn’t it?! Good luck! x

  • Carole E 4th May 2017 at 8:34 pm

    Scrumptious Strawberry

  • MANDY DOHERTY 4th May 2017 at 8:34 pm

    The Mixed Berry

  • Laura Pritchard 4th May 2017 at 8:38 pm

    The Mango one sounds lovely!

  • Jen 4th May 2017 at 9:47 pm

    Definitely mango, sounds delicious!

  • Tasha 4th May 2017 at 10:16 pm

    Scrumptious strawberry sounds delicious

  • Rebecca Smith 5th May 2017 at 6:17 am

    Marvellous Mango sounds super yummy

  • William Gould 5th May 2017 at 7:51 am

    Moist Mixed Berry sounds like it would be my favourite!

  • Laura Nice 5th May 2017 at 4:37 pm

    Coconut & Lime sounds fab!

  • Kim M 5th May 2017 at 5:15 pm

    Radiant raspberry x

  • Sam R 5th May 2017 at 7:29 pm

    Marvelous mango 🙂

  • Lorna Ledger 5th May 2017 at 9:43 pm

    They all sound great, thank you for the chance! sumptuous strawberry so especially yum! x

    • DevonMamaOnline 5th May 2017 at 10:32 pm

      Good luck!!

  • Carrie-Anne Brown 6th May 2017 at 12:12 pm

    Love the sound of the Radiant Raspberry the most!

  • Christine Caple 6th May 2017 at 4:42 pm

    Marvellous Mango sounds delicious.

  • Jules page 7th May 2017 at 8:52 am

    Strawberry x

  • Ruth Harwood 7th May 2017 at 1:23 pm

    Radiant raspberry sounds yummy!

  • Dane Cobain 7th May 2017 at 4:01 pm

    I’m all about the raspberry 😀

  • Gemma Massey 7th May 2017 at 4:03 pm

    Radiant raspberry sounds delish thanks for the chance x

    • DevonMamaOnline 8th May 2017 at 9:31 am

      Good luck!! x

  • Emma Louise Elliott 7th May 2017 at 7:09 pm

    I would love to try the raspberry flavoured one xxx

    • DevonMamaOnline 8th May 2017 at 9:31 am

      I love raspberry flavoured bars, these are great!

  • Solange 7th May 2017 at 8:21 pm

    I would love to try the Radiant Raspberry first.

  • Gerri Tennant 7th May 2017 at 9:25 pm

    Perfect for my little granddaughter. Radiant Raspberry sounds difficult to resist.

    • DevonMamaOnline 8th May 2017 at 9:31 am

      We ended up having to share all of ours, half for the baby, half for me!

  • graham wright 7th May 2017 at 10:03 pm

    Strawberry as i love strawberry

  • Adrian Bold 7th May 2017 at 11:25 pm

    I would love to try the strawberry first. Thanks for the competition.

    • DevonMamaOnline 8th May 2017 at 9:30 am

      Good choice, they’re rather delicious!

  • Michaela Hannah 8th May 2017 at 5:07 am

    The scrumptious strawberry sound yummy

    • DevonMamaOnline 8th May 2017 at 9:29 am

      It’s delicious! x

  • Rebecca Cusick 8th May 2017 at 7:58 am

    I would try Marvellous Mango first. Yummy!

    • DevonMamaOnline 8th May 2017 at 9:29 am

      Good choice, my son loves that one!

  • Victoria Prince 8th May 2017 at 11:00 am

    I’m most looking forward to trying the Juicy Apricot 🙂

  • maria blythin 9th May 2017 at 9:34 am

    ooo the juicy apricot sounds lovely x

  • Rie Tetley 9th May 2017 at 4:50 pm

    Definitely looking forward to the raspberry variety!

  • Natalie Turner 9th May 2017 at 4:51 pm

    Mixed Berry sounds really nice!

  • judy kennedy 9th May 2017 at 7:38 pm

    strawberry

  • Karen Barrett 10th May 2017 at 6:18 am

    They look yummy, love the sound of Radiant Raspberry.

  • A S,Edinburgh 11th May 2017 at 9:46 pm

    I think Juicy Apricot sounds perfect for this time of year, plus I love apricot and haven’t had it in anything for far too long! (I should do some baking…)

    • DevonMamaOnline 12th May 2017 at 9:43 am

      I’m an apricot fan too, although I always forget to use it in baking… must try harder (all this has done is made me think of cake!)

  • Sally Collingwood 12th May 2017 at 9:19 am

    Coconut and lime, sounds different.

  • Dean Boyle 12th May 2017 at 9:59 am

    Strawberry 😆😆😆

  • kate kathurima 12th May 2017 at 11:00 am

    marvellous mango

  • Susan B 12th May 2017 at 11:24 am

    Coconut and Lime sounds particularly yummy to me.

    • DevonMamaOnline 12th May 2017 at 10:25 pm

      It’s great!

  • JULIE WARD 12th May 2017 at 1:03 pm

    The strawberry one, its grandsons favourite fruit

    • DevonMamaOnline 12th May 2017 at 10:25 pm

      Good choice!! Good luck!

  • Paul Halling 12th May 2017 at 1:16 pm

    Radiant Raspberry for us!

  • Kelly Hanson 12th May 2017 at 3:46 pm

    The Tangy Pineapple flavour sounds nice, I’d like to try that.

  • Sian 12th May 2017 at 5:23 pm

    The mixed berry sounds delish!

  • Laura Walker 12th May 2017 at 8:33 pm

    I like the sound of the coconut and lime

  • paula cheadle 13th May 2017 at 12:57 am

    pineapple one

  • emma walters 13th May 2017 at 7:41 am

    coconut and lime! something different to the usual flavours!

  • Maxine G 13th May 2017 at 7:45 am

    I love the sound of all of them. I wish somebody would invent a rhubarb bar, but I think the radiant raspberry flavour may be the first I’d plump for!

  • Maria P 13th May 2017 at 1:41 pm

    Strawberry first -all time favourite 🙂

    • DevonMamaOnline 14th May 2017 at 10:53 pm

      Ha! It’s good to stick to your guns!!

  • Louise Green 13th May 2017 at 6:29 pm

    Marvellous Mango

  • Patricia Avery 13th May 2017 at 6:59 pm

    Raspberry is my favourite fruit so it would have to be Radiant Raspberry 🙂

    • DevonMamaOnline 14th May 2017 at 10:55 pm

      I love raspberry things too – good choice!

  • sheri darby 13th May 2017 at 7:03 pm

    Strawberry

  • Natasha R-M 13th May 2017 at 7:33 pm

    It’s good to find a bar which is both vegan and gluten-free. I would like to try any of the flavours but particularly like the sound of the mango bar.

  • nat 13th May 2017 at 8:37 pm

    moist mixed berry sound scrummy
    get some bad boys in my tummy!!

    • DevonMamaOnline 14th May 2017 at 10:56 pm

      Extra points for the rhyming, good luck!!

  • Juliet Wilson 13th May 2017 at 9:07 pm

    Marvellous Mango!

  • Nancy Bradford 13th May 2017 at 11:32 pm

    Marvelous Mango looks lovely. Thank you for the chance x

    • DevonMamaOnline 14th May 2017 at 10:55 pm

      No problem, good luck!!

  • Sadiyya Maryam 14th May 2017 at 7:55 am

    Radiant Raspberry for sure!

  • Danielle Pooley 14th May 2017 at 8:17 am

    The coconut & lime, I think that would be really fresh!

    • DevonMamaOnline 14th May 2017 at 10:48 pm

      I like that it’s different to what you’d normally expect!

  • Sandra Fortune 14th May 2017 at 8:45 am

    Mixed berry would be my choice

  • Karen R 14th May 2017 at 9:21 am

    Marvellous mango sounds delish 🙂

  • Tracy Gladman 14th May 2017 at 10:48 am

    I like the sound of the Mango.

  • jo liddement 14th May 2017 at 11:48 am

    I like the sound of the Orange and Ginger but they all look delish

    • DevonMamaOnline 14th May 2017 at 10:52 pm

      Good choice! Good luck!

  • Victoria Allum 14th May 2017 at 1:34 pm

    Thanks for the review, haven’t come across these yet, my children like Mango so would be good to try those!

  • EJ Dunn 14th May 2017 at 1:53 pm

    The radiant raspberry

  • Hayley Todd 14th May 2017 at 2:15 pm

    I absolutely adore the sound of the Marvellous Mango!

  • Caroline J Robinson 14th May 2017 at 2:19 pm

    Marvellous Mango

  • Julie Scattergood 14th May 2017 at 2:43 pm

    Orange and Ginger

  • jackie CURRAN 14th May 2017 at 4:35 pm

    juicy apricot is the one I would love to try

    • DevonMamaOnline 14th May 2017 at 10:51 pm

      It’s lovely, good luck

  • Kay Broomfield 14th May 2017 at 5:28 pm

    We’d try the raspberry first!

  • suzi moore 14th May 2017 at 5:34 pm

    For me it would have to be the marvellous mango

  • Cerys John 14th May 2017 at 5:55 pm

    Tangy pineapple 🙂

  • Allan Fullarton 14th May 2017 at 5:55 pm

    What a great giveaway – lovely.

  • barby madden 14th May 2017 at 6:11 pm

    Ive tried a Strawberry so would love to try the Mixed Berry one now

    • DevonMamaOnline 14th May 2017 at 10:47 pm

      Ohhh, I love it when I find other’s that have tried these! Good luck!

  • Sue Price 14th May 2017 at 7:13 pm

    Ooh definitely looking forward to trying the mixed berry bars first! My kids love healthy snack bars but we haven’t tried Get Fruity bars yet. They sound yummy!

  • laura stewart 14th May 2017 at 7:43 pm

    would love to try the strawberry

  • olivia kirby 14th May 2017 at 8:14 pm

    I have tried them all! My favourite is mango, then the coconut and then the berry! The others I like but not as much!

  • Carly Belsey 14th May 2017 at 8:18 pm

    The moist berry mix sounds really yummy, im sure my kids would love them all though

  • Jo Hutchings 14th May 2017 at 8:43 pm

    The marvellous mango sounds really nice and not something you usually get in a snack bar.

  • Fiona jk42 14th May 2017 at 8:47 pm

    I’m looking forward to tasting the coconut and lime

  • Jayne Townson 14th May 2017 at 9:15 pm

    They all sound really good, but Scrumptious Strawberry would win for me, thanks.

  • Lia Burns 14th May 2017 at 9:44 pm

    They all sound delicious but I think I would love the scrumptious strawberry flavour!

    • DevonMamaOnline 14th May 2017 at 10:54 pm

      Good choice!

  • Ellen Stafford 14th May 2017 at 10:13 pm

    The raspberry one sounds fab!

    • DevonMamaOnline 14th May 2017 at 10:46 pm

      Good luck!

  • susan seymour 14th May 2017 at 10:37 pm

    They all sounds delicious I would try the mixed berry first
    A very generous prize give away good luck everyone

    • DevonMamaOnline 14th May 2017 at 10:45 pm

      Great choice, I loved the mixed berry!

  • ellie spider 14th May 2017 at 11:16 pm

    orange and ginger 🙂

  • lindsey bluff 14th May 2017 at 11:17 pm

    apricot, orange and ginger sounds amazing!

  • Kate Davies 14th May 2017 at 11:19 pm

    Mixed berry sounds delicious.

  • Natalie Crossan 14th May 2017 at 11:55 pm

    Coconut and lime 😀 xxx

  • Leave a Reply

    Welcome To Devon Mama!

    I'm Hayley and this is us; working parents to a wild haired toddler and a sleep loving baby. Whether it's travel, food, lifestyle or just a healthy dose of parenting reality, there's something for everyone here. So sit back, get comfy and start scrolling!

    Hayley x

    Never Miss A Moment

    Join 3,458 other subscribers.

    Latest Posts

    Latest Tweets

    TOTS100 - UK Parent Blogs
    TOTS100
    ×
    %d bloggers like this: