Review: Joie Pact Lightweight Stroller

When it comes to toddler transport, it feels like we have a lot of options; a three-wheeler ‘sport’ buggy, the trusty travel system and of course, our latest addition, the YippieYo. But we’re still lacking one important addition to our buggy arsenal; a lightweight stroller. You know the thing, something for the small trips around town, one to leave in the grandparent’s car or, most importantly, one to take on holiday. When we were asked to test and review the Joie Pact lightweight stroller, I thought my luck was in. Not only do we get a pushchair to complete our set but I have the perfect excuse to book another holiday. Here’s how we got on…

Review Joie Pact Lightweight Stroller

Joie Pact (Lite) Lightweight Stroller

What is the Joie Pact?

The Joie Pact is designed as a lightweight stroller with a compact fold design. Created with travel in mind, the Pact weighs in at an impressively light 6kg and folds down to only 52.5 x 56.5 x 24cm. Packed full of functionality, the Pact can be fully reclined to a lay flat position, has a huge hood, a decent sized basket and adjustable leg support. It’s well thought out, easy to fold single-handedly and even includes a rain cover, travel bag and car-seat adaptors as standard. That’s right, just like that this little stroller became a travel system.

Review Joie Pact Lightweight Stroller

Tell Me More…

Arriving in a full-colour but tiny box, the immediate fear is that the Pact will take hours to assemble. Not so, the Joie Pact is just that tiny when folded. Simply clip the wheels in to the frame and clip in the bumper bar and you’re ready to go. Inside the box was also a rain cover and adaptors to fit Joie car seats (or others, such as Maxi-Cosi).

Out and about, the Joie Pact performs well. We’ve taken it everywhere with us over the last six weeks; from the beach to the country lanes. The single handed collapse mechanism works smoothly, allowing me to hold my son in one arm and set the buggy up (or put it down) with the other. It’s quick, intuitive and really effective – leaving you with a briefcase sized parcel. The design means you end up with a metal handle to lift it by or a fabric strap to allow you to carry it over your shoulder; ideal for a busy airport.

Review Joie Pact Lightweight Stroller

In Practice…

My son doesn’t look huge in it, unlike some lightweight, travel buggies. The five point harness is small in design but very effective; the shoulder straps stay in place without him being able to wriggle free… a very important factor for a toddler! The seat reclines fully making it suitable from birth or the very rare toddler nap. The recline is controlled by an adjustable strap allowing you a complete range of seat angles. I would say, for us, it doesn’t quite go upright enough. He likes to grip on to the bumper bar and lean forward which can pull the seat forward with him. However, I imagine a more upright back would require a bulkier design, so on balance, it’s totally worth it.

Let’s face it, basket size can make or break your love for any pushchair. The basket on the Joie Pact is surprisingly roomy for a lightweight stroller. We managed to fit my handbag, the change bag, a lunch box and some jumpers in there without it overflowing. It’s a little like a tardis! Not only that but it’s easily accessible, even when the seat is reclined, something that’s often overlooked.

Review Joie Pact Lightweight Stroller

Is It Holiday Friendly?

The Pact is billed as a holiday essential; it even comes complete with a travel bag to zip it into for air travel. It’s weight and size means it rivals some of the top billed travel buggies at a fraction of the price. In my opinion, the UPF 50+ sun canopy makes it a must. It’s huge, giving great coverage for your little one and even pulls down further to give an ‘eyeshade visor’. No more trying to badly position a wobbly parasol. As someone who spent an entire holiday covering their child in factor 50 suncream, I wish I’d had it then.

Review Joie Pact Lightweight Stroller

Overall

Since we’ve had the Pact, we’ve not even looked at our travel system, even in heavy rain. Yes, at times, it feels a little too lightweight, but it’s not until you start to use it that you realise just how good it is. In all honesty, I’m a little amazed by it. It’s quickly become a firm favourite in our household, garnering praise from all manner of family members. As my (rather buggy bored) husband put it, just the other day, ‘it really is quite good, isn’t it?’

Joie describe the Pact as ‘a petite parcel designed and engineered to make every day a holiday’ and they’re not lying. My back and shoulders have never felt more relief at not having to lug our rather hefty travel system in and out of the car. Scrap the expensive massages by the pool, it turns out all I needed was to upgrade to a Pact.

Review Joie Pact Lightweight Stroller

If you’re travelling with a toddler, why not check out our essential list of things to consider.

Follow:
Share:

17 Comments

  1. 24th September 2017 / 11:59 am

    Thanks for sharing this review, you’ve really sold us on the pushchair, it seems like the perfect lightweight stroller, which is so vital for parents who are active and want to get out and about without carrying too much with them. Though a massage wouldn’t hurt either haha!

    • DevonMamaOnline
      Author
      29th September 2017 / 8:55 am

      I think both might be essential!

  2. Victoria Turner
    17th October 2017 / 10:32 am

    Hi can the pact be used without the bumper bar? & does it have a cosy toes / rain cover or can a universal one be used?
    Would it fit a small 4 year old comfortably?
    ThNk you

    • DevonMamaOnline
      Author
      18th October 2017 / 8:27 am

      Hi Victoria, It definitely can be used without the bumper bar. I quite often take ours off as otherwise my son likes to put his feet over it (kids, eh?!). It comes complete with a rain cover which provides excellent coverage, even when reclined. It doesn’t have a cosy toes as standard, I haven’t seen a Joie one for it but I’m confident it would fit our standard mothercare one as the straps are all in ‘normal’ places. As for a four year old, I’m afraid I don’t know. My son is 18 months in the photos and there’s loads of room. I would think so but as someone with no experience of four year olds I’d hate to recommend it incorrectly. It could be worth popping in to a local store or ordering one to try out. Let me know how you get on x

      • Victoria Turner
        18th October 2017 / 9:03 am

        Thank you.
        Definitely top of my to get list! X

  3. Cat
    17th October 2017 / 12:44 pm

    Thank you for this review! We’re traveling to disneyland with a 20 month old in tow and we just wanted to take something small and lightweight so he can nap as and when he wants to. You’ve sold this to us, thank you!

    • DevonMamaOnline
      Author
      18th October 2017 / 8:23 am

      I’m so glad to hear this! It would be absolutely perfect for such a trip, I really wish we’d had ours on our last holiday, it’s just so easy to use and really is packed full of functionality. Have a lovely trip!

  4. Kirsty
    13th December 2017 / 3:20 pm

    Hi great review. I’m currently looking for a replacement travel stroller and ideally wanted something that could be taken as hand luggage would this fold small enough?

    • DevonMamaOnline
      Author
      15th December 2017 / 9:25 am

      Hi Kirsty, it certainly folds up small (it’s large briefcase/small suitcase size) but I’d hate to advise you incorrectly on whether it could or couldn’t be taken as hand luggage as I know it’s dependent on the flight provider themselves. I’d suggest checking with Joie customer service just to be on the safe side! Let me know how you get on. x

  5. Yael
    12th April 2018 / 6:48 am

    Hi, I am wondering how stable the stroller is. If I put a bag on the handle – will it turn over ? Or how much weight it can carry without turn over ?

    • DevonMamaOnline
      Author
      13th April 2018 / 9:26 am

      It’s pretty light, personally I wouldn’t put a bag on the handle unless you added some weight to the underneath as well, otherwise any time you take your little one out, it would fall backward. The basket is a decent size, definitely enough to hold a nappy bag – we popped our backpack one in there with no issues.

  6. Sara
    14th May 2018 / 11:15 pm

    Hi there. I really like the look of this stroller but I’m wondering how sturdy the chasis feels and if it would be suitable for daily use, ie the school run and occasional use on the weekend? I’m looking to replace my Hauck travel system which dosen’t feel as solid as it did after using it for a year. I’ve been looking at the Pact and the Cosatto Woosh and I’d like to replace with something which will last my 13 month old till she’s 3-4 and out of a stroller. Thanks.

    • DevonMamaOnline
      Author
      17th May 2018 / 9:48 am

      It’s a great stroller but I’m not sure how it would hold up for everyday use for a couple of years. We live rurally so probably use it once a week plus any traveling as we have an off-road buggy we use for daily walks. I’d say if you’re in a town and just using it on pavements it would probably be fine but I have no experience of long term daily use just yet I’m afraid!

  7. Stefanie siew
    23rd June 2018 / 4:23 am

    Halo, may i ask whether this stroller can be consider as cabin size stroller? Some say yes, but some say it is better to choose pact lite as it is smaller and cabin size.

    • DevonMamaOnline
      Author
      26th June 2018 / 9:01 am

      You’d need to check with your airline to see if it qualifies as cabin sized as I’d hate to give you the wrong information! It does go down very small but unsure on the specifics. Sorry!

  8. 13th October 2018 / 6:11 pm

    Hii. Do you think this is suitable for newborn? Joie said it is fully flat tilt but I am not sure looking from the picture.
    Thanks!

    • DevonMamaOnline
      Author
      14th October 2018 / 11:26 am

      Whilst it does go flat, I’d still be a little wary of putting a teeny tiny newborn in there. Mostly because it’s a big space for a tiny person and you’d probably have to strap them in, unlike a carry cot. It does come with car seat adaptors that would allow you to fit a Maxi Cosi or Joie car seat to it and I’d use that for the first 4-6 weeks whilst they’re very small still. We had a carry cot with both children on a different travel system and used it only a handful of times, instead ending up using a baby carrier or the car seat so I wouldn’t say you necessarily need one, it just comes down to how much they’ll be in the buggy. When they’re out of that really squished up stage (probably 6 weeks onward), they’d be fine in this – I’d pop a blanket under them/to the sides just to cushion it a little but obviously make sure you keep an eye that they’re in no danger of pulling it over their face. My little one has been in a flat recline buggy like this since about 6 weeks onward with no issues. x

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: